17Mar05 ‘Non-Art,’ a.k.a. ‘Free-for-All’

In which you realize I bloody well mean it when I say I’m interested in a lot of things. Ya numpty.

So, like, I’m a scientist ‘n shit, but I’m also human, and I might have (adult) AD(H)D, so I really like well-presented, appropriately formatted, and reliably structured content. Be it video, text, image, audio, olfactory, gustatory, kinesthetic, electromagnetic (hint: this includes visible light!), electrically unstable / radioactive, bla bla bla I lost the point of the sentence again.

So here’s a thing about science which I can’t remember and I don’t care.
Fiiine, I’m rewatching it. Oh god, the neutrinos again >,<*

XD Hah! That’s a good explanation actually. That 0:55 scientist looks like Professor Utonium / Samurai Jack. Also there are SO many different papers that no one person can POSSIBLY keep up with them all. And errors are frequently under-reported, as this video explains. Careers, media, and funding should NOT be the driving motivation for scientific investigation.

Yep. Peer review is better than nothing. But it’s not ideal. We should publish and refine investigative methods, as well as incentivising ALL results. Not just spectacles or supporting the status quo for capitalist organizations.

Good thing I rewatched that. I knew there was a reason I included it.

This one’s really awesome and scary. And totally not at all what we’re going through in the UK and US and Europe broadly. Noooo… Totally not. Ohh, so La Puta, the bizarre Ghibli film was a reference at least in name (I don’t remember the movie or care).

Holy crap 1:48’s working person is just gorgeous. That dancey animation makes me swoon. 2:27 certainly sounds really goddamn familiar. Ah, so it’s state surveillance and efficient murders that *COUGH TORIES COUGH* are hallmarks of dysfunctional society.

1984 was so goddamn sad. I just… I just felt so upset after reading it. I feel worse, but it seemed important to read.

Also terrifying and upsetting, but important. Orwellian =/= Authoritarian. Tyranny comes in many forms, from different methods. As for language leading thought, check these links: Link 1 and Link 2. Government surveillance, lethal threats, social control through propaganda and enforced false language – NewSpeak. Leading to DoubleThink. HM. Yeah, no, that doesn’t seem at ALL similar to how American formal education has been defunded and restructured to include obviously biased and fictional re-framings of history.

Think deeply. Question your assumptions. Pay close attention. Protect our language.

Oh, hey? Legit: my life.

What follows in quoted text is the abstracted definition from the video. I omitted the examples to just get to the actual definition. Watch the video! Go like their video! Subscribe to TedEd if you feel so inclined!

Kafkaesque – unnecessarily complicated and frustrating experiences. Mundane and absurd aspects of modern bureaucracy. An ordeal so disorienting and illogical that success becomes pointless in the first place. Irony of characters’ circular reasoning in reaction to it.

Tragicomic stories employing dream logic to explore the relationships between systems of arbitrary power and the individuals caught up in them. Some systems are intrinsic to the character.

Humor is rooted in the nonsensical logic of the situations described. Judged by people we can’t see, according to rules we don’t know. He reminds us that the world we live in is one we create, and have the power to change for the better.

What precedes in quoted text is the abstracted definition from the video. I omitted the examples to just get to the actual definition. Watch the video! Go like their video! Subscribe to TedEd if you feel so inclined!

A meme before Richard Dawkins’ concept took hold in a way we couldn’t have predicted or stopped. No matter how much we may want to. There is a loud af bit in the middle. Turn down your headphones. God this is so damn old. Christ.

This one gave me my next medium-sized project idea. I’ll do far fewer styles, only 4 at first, then 4 alternate versions. I’ll explain more in my next art post or text update.

Hey! Here’s a WordPress one! Show some love.

 

 

 

My partner introduced me to Miike Snow, Genghis Khan, specifically. But I didn’t realize this song from from them / him too!

Author: mxdozana

Autistic Physicist Artist AD(H)D'er. American Latinx (Puerto Rico, Sicily fam), non-binary person who lives in the UK. I am anxious, depressed, OCD'er, and I might have BPD / EUPD (Borderline, not bipolar). I like anime and video games, as well as cats, Zelda, Elder Scrolls, science, neuroscience, math, linguistics, art, cats, music, and cats. ... Cats are my thing.

Leave a Reply

