‘I Still Live in a Small Town That I Hate’: Roxane Gay’s Perspective on Her Success

Longreads

This week, a number of people heard of Roxane Gay for the first time when Simon & Schuster canceled its plans to publish controversial alt-right author Milo Yiannopoulos’s book. (In the weeks prior, Gay had withdrawn her forthcoming book, How to be Heard, from the publisher because they were giving the former Breitbart editor a platform.) For most writers, there’s no such thing as a bad way to be discovered by new readers. But it can be annoying when those who’ve just become aware of your work perceive you as an overnight success, especially when your career has been building for years. In a profile for Brooklyn Magazine, Molly McArdle asks Gay for her perspective on her success.

“A lot of people think it’s been overnight,” Gay says of her success. “In many ways my life hasn’t changed. My friends are still my friends. I still live in…

View original post 183 more words

Author: mxdozana

Autistic Physicist Artist AD(H)D'er. American Latinx (Puerto Rico, Sicily fam), non-binary person who lives in the UK. I am anxious, depressed, OCD'er, and I might have BPD / EUPD (Borderline, not bipolar). I like anime and video games, as well as cats, Zelda, Elder Scrolls, science, neuroscience, math, linguistics, art, cats, music, and cats. ... Cats are my thing.

1 thought on “‘I Still Live in a Small Town That I Hate’: Roxane Gay’s Perspective on Her Success”

Leave a Reply

